ESA RN 15 Midterm Conference 2021 - Global Social Change: Ideas, Beliefs and Interests

26-27 May 2021 – Online conference

About the conference

Following the success of the workshops organized by Research Network (RN) 15 at the European Sociological Association’s (ESA) 14th Conference held in Manchester on 20-23 August 2019, plans are now underway for the 2021 Midterm Conference. We are currently working with the Tampere Research Group for Cultural and Political Sociology (TCuPS) and the Institute for Advanced Social Research (IASR) at Tampere University to organize a successful midterm conference on 26-27 May 2021.

The conference aims to bring together researchers studying global and transnational phenomena from different perspectives. We hope to find novel ways of conceptualizing and studying the ideas, beliefs and interests involved in global social change, whether they are related to global governance, migration, or changes in cultures and identities. The keynote speakers will be esteemed global and transnational scholars: Professor Motti Regev from the Open University of Israel, Israel, and Professor Arnstein Aassve from Bocconi University, Italy.

We look forward to meeting you online in May!

Conference time and venue

The conference will take place on 26-27 May 2021. The conference is organized completely online (Zoom). The time zone for the conference is Eastern European Summer Time (EEST) (UTC+03:00).

If you have any questions or require assistance with practical matters, please do not hesitate to contact our conference coordinator Lauri Heimo via email: or phone: +358505099079. You can also email the organizing committee (



About the conference organizers

The 2021 Midterm Conference of ESA Research Network 15 (Global, Transnational and Cosmopolitan Sociology) is organized in cooperation with the Tampere Research Group for Cultural and Political Sociology (TCuPS) and Institute for Advanced Social Research (IASR), both based at the Tampere University, Finland.

The Conference Organising Committee consists of active members of the RN15 affiliated to Tampere University. The committee members are:

Chair of the organizing committee:
Marjaana Rautalin (ESA RN15 co-coordinator)

Other members of the organizing committee:
Marjukka Virkajärvi (conference coordinator)
Lauri Heimo (ESA RN15 board member/conference coordinator)
Pertti Alasuutari (ESA RN15 board member)
Valtteri Vähä-Savo (ESA RN15 board member)
Jukka Syväterä (ESA RN15 board member)
Hanna Rautajoki
Laia Pi Ferrer
Mohammad Ahsan Qureshi
Eetu Vento

Organized with the support of Tampere University and the Kone Foundation